Hans Christian Andersen Award

Every other year IBBY presents the Hans Christian Andersen Awards to a living author and illustrator whose complete works have made a lasting contribution to children's literature.

The Hans Christian Andersen Award is the highest international recognition given to an author and an illustrator of children's books. Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II of Denmark is the Patron of the Andersen Awards.

The nominations are made by the National Sections of IBBY and the recipients are selected by a distinguished international jury of children's literature specialists. The Author's Award has been given since 1956 and the Illustrator's Award since 1966. The Award consists of a gold medal and a diploma, presented at a festive ceremony during the biennial IBBY Congress. A special Andersen Awards issue of IBBY's journal Bookbird presents all the nominees, and documents the selection process.

Index of Hans Christian Andersen Award Winning Author by Name and Date

2016 - Cao Wenxuan
2014 - Nahoko Uehashi
2012 - Mara Teresa Andruetto
2010 - David Almond
2008 - Jrg Schubiger
2006 - Margaret Mahy
2004 - Martin Waddell
2002 - Aidan Chambers
2000 - Ana Maria Machado
1998 - Katherine Paterson
1996 - Uri Orlev
1994 - Michio Mado
1992 - Virginia Hamilton

Han Christian Andersen Blog