The Jerusalem Prize

The Jerusalem Prize is the cultural highlight of the Jerusalem International Book Fair. The Prize is awarded to a writer whose work best expresses and promotes the idea of the ''freedom of the in dividual in society.'' The theme was chosen both for its wider international appeal and for its internal Israeli resonance. The modest monetary value of the Prize, currently US $10,000, reflects that it was never intended to be anything more than a symbolic sum.

Index of Jerusalem Prize Winning Author by Name and Date

2017 - Karl Ove Knausgaard
2015 - Ismail Kadare
2013 - Antonio Muñoz Molina
2011 - Ian McEwan
2009 - Haruki Murakami
2007 - Leszek Kolakowski
2005 - António Lobo Antunes
2003 - Arthur Miller
2001 - Susan Sontag
1999 - Don DeLillo
1997 - Jorge Semprún Maura
1995 - Mario Vargas Llosa
1993 - Stefan Heym
1991 - Zbigniew Herbert

The Jerusalem Prize Blog