The Man Booker Prize

Ion Trewin, Literary Director of the Booker Prize Foundation, discusses the Man Booker Prize.

"From the very beginning of what was originally called the Booker Prize there was just one criterion - the prize would be for 'the best novel in the opinion of the judges'. And 45 years later that is still a key sentence in the rules."

It is a measure of the quality of the original drafting that the main ambitions of the prize have not changed. The aim was to increase the reading of quality fiction and to attract 'the intelligent general audience'. The press release announcing the prize elaborated on this: 'The real success will be a significant increase in the sales of the winning book... that will to some extent be shared not only by the authors who have been shortlisted, but, in the long run, by authors all over the country.'

Index of Man Booker Prize Winning Author by Name and Date

2017 - George Saunders
2016 - Paul Beatty
2015 - Marlon James
2014 - Richard Flanagan
2013 - Eleanor Catton
2012 - Hilary Mantel
2011 - Julian Barnes
2010 - Howard Jacobson
2009 - Hilary Mantel
2008 - Aravind Adiga
2007 - Anne Enright
2006 - Kiran Desai
2005 - John Banville
2004 - Alan Hollinghurst
2003 - DBC Pierre

Man Booker Prize Blog