The Nobel Prize For Literature

On 27 November 1895, Alfred Nobel signed his last will and testament, giving the largest share of his fortune to a series of prizes, the Nobel Prizes. As described in Nobel's will one part was dedicated to "the person who shall have produced in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal direction". The Nobel Prize For Literature has been awarded to 107 authors since 1901 and 13 award winners have been earned by women.

The Swedish Academy is responsible for the selection of the Nobel Laureates in Literature, and has 18 members. The Nobel Committee for Literature is the working body that evaluates the nominations and presents its recommendations to the Swedish Academy, and comprises four to five members. The Nobel Prize is one of the most prestigious and lucrative prizes in the world, and is given to a writer for a lifetime's body of work, rather than a single novel, short story or collection.

The winner receives eight million Swedish kronor, or about $1.2 million.

Index of Nobel Prize Winning Author by Name and Date

2017 - Kazuo Ishiguro
2016 - Bob Dylan
2015 - Svetlana Alexievich
2014 - Patrick Modiano
2013 - Alice Munro
2012 - Mo Yan
2011 - Tomas Tranströmer
2010 - Mario Vargas Llosa
2009 - Herta Müller
2008 - J. M. G. Le Clézio
2007 - Doris Lessing
2006 - Orhan Pamuk
2005 - Harold Pinter
2004 - Elfriede Jelinek
2003 - J. M. Coetzee


Nobel Prize Blog